Disney Infinity 2.0 - Marvel Super Heroes

Disney Infinity 2.0 – Marvel’s Super Heroes

A new year and a new instalment in the Disney Infinity franchise. Selling over 3 million starter packs for Disney Infinity 1.0 alone, Disney Interactive Studios realised they had a gold-mine on their hands. Attracting not only the younger players, but also the grown-up Disney collectors, Disney decided to take the big plunge and tap onto their recent acquisition of the Marvel comics franchise. A very smart business decision indeed.

With an initial release of Disney Infinity 2.0 Marvel Super Heroes Starter Packs for Xbox 360, Xbox One, Playstation 3, Playstation 4 and Nintendo Wii U, both the previous generation and next generation consoles are represented of the 3 big gaming console players, Microsoft, Sony and Nintendo. Unfortunately Disney decided to stop producing a Nintendo Wii version as well as the Nintendo 3DS Toy Box Challenge version. Sales for the Nintendo 3DS version were disappointing, however Nintendo Wii still has a large customer-base. Instead, Disney is intending to release a Playstation Vita version sometime in 2015.

Similar to Disney Infinity 1, there is also a free downloadable version of the game available for Windows PC, as well as iOS (specifically for the iPad, not the iPhone). Please note that although you are receiving a free download, the characters still need to be purchased separately and activated using the Download Card that comes in each character pack, playset or starter pack. Furthermore, play functionality is restricted to just the Toy Box 2.0 mode, which allows you to play all of the Disney Infinity 1, as well as the Disney Infinity 2.0 characters.

Marvel’s The Avengers

As part of the Marvel Super Heroes Starter Pack, players get to enjoy the world of Marvel’s The Avengers. The world environment playable in The Avengers is almost 4x the size of the largest world in Disney Infinity 1, The Incredibles. With a giant playable world and a total of 8 unique playable characters, The Avengers is definitely the spotlight world for Disney Infinity 2.0. With the Starter Pack come Iron Man, Black Widow and Thor. The stand-alone Playset of the Avengers comes with just Iron Man and Black Widow, while Thor is an available Single Character. Other characters for The Avengers are Hulk, Captain America and Hawkeye, as well as the upcoming Falcon and Loki. Also playable in The Avengers Playset are Ultimate Spider-Man‘s Nova and Guardian of the Galaxy‘s Rocket Racoon.

Marvel’s Ultimate Spider-Man

Taking place in the same playable world as The Avengers, comes the Marvel Ultimate Spider-Man world. Once again, the size of the playable world is 4x that of the largest world in Disney Infinity 1, The Incredibles. While Hulk and Iron Man can also be played in the Ultimate Spider-Man Playset, a total of 6 additional characters are available. In the Playset come both Spider-Man and Nova and available as single characters are Venom, Nick Fury, Iron Fist and the upcoming Green Goblin.

Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy

The last playable world is Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy. This one taking place in a smaller world, but packed with playable characters and lots of exciting activities. Not only does it allow cross-over gameplay from Ultimate Spider-Man‘s Nova and The Avenger’s Iron Man, it also has 7 characters of it’s own. In the Playset come Star-Lord and Gamora and as single characters there is Rocket Racoon, Drax, Groot and the upcoming Yondu and Ronan.

Disney Originals

Disney character fans are not left behind either. Although Disney chose to create no playable worlds for Disney Originals characters, they focused a lot more on making the Toy Box mode for Disney Infinity 2.0 more exciting and interesting. With more activities, more customisability and more advanced technology options, the Toy Box 2.0 is exciting for players of all ages. A total of 9 unique characters are released for Disney Infinity 2.0 under the Originals header. Classic characters such as Donald Duck, Aladdin and (upcoming) Jasmine, Tinker Bell, Stitch, Merida, Maleficent and from Disney’s hit movie Big Hero Six come Hiro and Baymax. A re-release of Sorcerer Mickey as a Crystal version is also available.

Forward Compatible

Although Disney calls it Backward Compatible, in actual fact, characters are forward compatible, meaning that you can take your favourite Disney Infinity 1.0 characters and play them in Toy Box 2.0 Mode under Disney Infinity 2.0. This means that Anna, Elsa, Sorcerer Mickey, Agent P, Phineas, Wreck-It Ralph, Vanelope, Mr Incredible and his whole family, Mike, Sully and all the other Disney Infinity 1 characters can be played in Disney Infinity 2.0! Gameplay is restricted to Toy Box mode only, so you wont be able to take your Monsters University world and play it in Disney Infinity 2.0. Portals from Disney Infinity 1 are also compatible with Disney Infinity 2.0, as long as they are of the same console platform.

With so many new characters to collect, what are you waiting for? Don’t wait until they all run out and buy your Disney Infinity 2.0 collection from Games Home today!